Quick Course on Teaching 21st Century Skills (and assessing them)

As a quick follow-on to my recent post on 21st Century skills, I thought that it may be worth mentioning for those of you who have not yet seen it, that there is a free short (5 week) course that is just starting on Assessment and Teaching of 21st Century Skills, available on Coursera.

The course promises to look in detail at what 21st century skills are and why they are important, how to teach them and how to measure progress in them.  This appears to largely deal with ‘soft skills’ like teamwork, communication, leadership and the ability to learn and solve problems.  All things that I believe to be important for everyone, not just our kids.

I am intrigued to see what will be covered and trust that it will prompt some more thinking in this area and help me not only with developing Connor’s skills (and my own!), but will also hopefully give me some new ideas for working with larger groups of students when I teach entrepreneurship from next semester.

Leave a comment